call us: 562.799.4700 x80424
email us:

LAEF's 2017-18 King & Queen of Hearts Campaign


Thank you to our amazing sponsors! They support education in our community and deserve your patronage!

Click HERE to view 2017-18 sponsorship flyer!

The 5th annual King & Queen of Hearts campaign concluded at the Royal Ball & Coronation on February 24th! Geoff King and Wendee Close were crowed King & Queen!

What?  Amazing men and women from our community joined the LAEF Royal Court and vied for the honor of being crowned King and Queen!

2017-18 King Candidates
Dan Brandt – Los Alamitos Police Department Corporal
Craig Chamberlain – Realty Executive at Team Chamberlain
Geoffrey King – King Financial Group of Wells Fargo Advisors

2017-18 Queen Candidates
Wendee Close – Mortgage Loan Specialist at CLS Financial
Amy Payne – Executive Director of Summer Harvest
Karen Russell – Los Al USD school board member

When? The Royal Court Debut was held on December 14 at The Original Fish Co. in Los Alamitos.  The Royal Court held FUNraisers following the debut event – all information will be on their individual pages!

The campaign concluded at the Royal Ball and Coronation gala on February 24, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. at The Grand in Long Beach (4101 E. Willow Street). Cocktail attire is recommended. Cocktails (complimentary champagne), appetizers, and the Silent Auction begin at 6:30 p.m. A 3-course Dinner (including wine) and the Live Auction begin at 7:45 p.m. Enjoy live entertainment throughout the evening. Click here to view the 2018 Royal Ball invitation!

Royal Ball tickets sales are now closed and the event is SOLD OUT.

How?  Vote for your favorite candidate by donating to LAEF in their name!  Every dollar counts as a vote! Click on their individual pages to do so!


Why?  Proceeds from the campaign will continue to support STEAM Fairs (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, Math) on all campuses, which will culminate in a district-wide STEAM showcase on May 19 in the LAHS Gym! In 2016, LAEF also supported the LAHS Robotics Team with a $10,000 donation and provided $30,000 to support Media Center Teachers at our elementary schools. In 2017, LAEF donated $67,500 to support STEAM on all campuses, $25,000 to support district mental health counselors, and donated $10,000 to support the LAHS Marching Band’s appearance in the London New Year’s Day parade. Check out our “Donate” page for more details on how LAEF supports educational excellence in our community!

KQ logo2 

Here is the 2017-18 candidate video

Here is the 2016-17 candidate video, created by Bob Ostmann and the LAHS Video Production Class!

Check out the 2015-16 candidate video, created by LAHS’s Griffin News!

Check out the 2014-15 candidate video, created by LAHS’s Griffin News!